Dublin Free Trade

22 Aug

I’m too far away from moving in to take full advantage of this but anyone living in Dublin looking for furniture should take advantage of Dublin Waste Management’s free website for free goods. They recently set up a separate site:  www.freetradeireland.ie

 I’m always popping in and out of the site to see what’s available.  I just took a look today and saw this settee.  Might not look like much at the moment but imagine it re-upholstered in some funky IKEA fabric with legs painted white.  The shape and size of it are so cool that I think it would be a little gem.  If I were taking on this project, I think I’d do the tufted buttons on the back in a bright accent color just to really bring out the features of the piece.

6 Responses to “Dublin Free Trade”

  1. Christiana Childers August 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Did you do that little foot stool or was that something on the freetrade as well? Love that sofa!

    • amyswear August 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

      The little foot stool is something that I found on another site — but I actually have this fabric. Adorable!

  2. Jenny Snyder August 24, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    Awesome!!!! LOVE It!!!!!

    • amyswear August 24, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      Why do people give away these great pieces for free? I was on again yesterday and there’s an amazing teak sideboard. I think I’m going to furnish my whole house in free schtuff :-)

  3. Jill Maher August 24, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    OMG! Amy: So thrilled that you’re doing this. It’s like we’re back on Kent Street making curtains for the Cape. xo

    p.s. love the stool fabric.

    • amyswear August 24, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      I miss those days!! You need to send me pics of the new place! I’d love to see it.

Leave a Reply

