One of my favorite libraries

10 Sep

Here comes that word again: yum.  When I first saw this library I thought, “someday, I’ll have a house big enough to have a dedicated library”.  I don’t think that day will come anytime soon but in the meantime, I can enjoy a little library lust just by looking at this room.  Three things I love about it:  1)  Color 2)  Intimate and Small 3) Open with Scale. 

With floor to ceiling books, the room quickly can become very small and intimate (which I think is a very nice thing for a library) but the homeowners have done a great job of creating balance by putting a rooflight above the library to soak the room in light. And the blue shelving and matching blue chandelier is a stroke of genius to my mind.  It takes what could be a boring and staid library and makes it funky and modern.  Nice.

One Response to “One of my favorite libraries”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home libraries « Tilly's Cottage - June 27, 2011

    […] attracted to libraries as featured in previous posts such as the Library in the Woods and the blue library that was from “the vault”.  And so today…more libraries!!  Another one for the […]

Leave a Reply

