For the love of quilts

24 Sep

Sometime back around 1992, I mentioned to my mother (who has always been a proficient seamstress) that I would love for her to make a double-wedding-ring quilt for me. I had been visiting a friend’s house in Connecticut for Thanksgiving and his mother was making a beautiful double-wedding-ring quilt for his brother’s upcoming nuptials and I was inspired.  My mother laughed when I put in my request saying that knowing how to sew and knowing how to quilt are two different things.  Luckily for me, she moved out to Oregon about the same time and got involved in quilting.  Sadly, once she did, she explained that quilting on a curve is difficult and so it would take a bit more time for her to advance to the double-wedding-ring level.  But persistance paid off and she eventually made the beautiful quilt you see here.

I guess you could say my mom’s quilting skills advanced pretty quickly — about as quickly as her passion for the art of quilting did.  She and my father now have an online business selling quilt supply, patterns, block-of-the-month-club subscriptions and lots of other things for the quilting enthusiast (www.storyquilts.com).  It’s for this reason that I’ll probably be shot for not doing a post about them sooner as quilting is a big part of our family!  Here are just a few of the quilts from their website including their very popular “Garden Patch Cats”:

 

Leave a Reply

