Home design for a masculine space

6 Nov

Today is my nephew, Taylor’s, birthday.  While just a sophmore in college, this kid has his act together and has already purchased his own home.  I haven’t seen it yet but I’m sure it’s decorated with a style and flair that could only be Taylor’s.  This got me thinking about the challenges (and opportunities) that designing a room or a home for a man represents.

A few years ago, I learned some hard lessons about designing for a bachelor.  For one thing (and this may seem obvious now but it wasn’t so to me at the time), no pink — not even if it’s an accent color in the guest room of a 6-bedroom bachelor “pad”.  With that said, I think a lot of designers who design for men tend to gravitate toward dark, “masculine” colors which I personally don’t feel is the best approach either.  Here are the lessons I’ve learned when it comes to designing for men:

Lesson One:  Go easy on the pillows.  Pretty much every man I know is dumbfounded by the  decorative pillows women use in their homes.  If you’re designing for the favorite man or your life, think “less is more”.

Lesson Two:  Make way for a nice big bed.  Most men I know really enjoy having a decent-sized bed.  There’s just something about a man and his space so the bed can often dominate the master bedroom of a bachelor pad which means you’ll need to get creative with functional elements like lights and side tables which may need to be approached in a more integrated fashion.

 

 

Lesson Three:  No need to hide the TV.  While a lot of women whom I’ve spoken with in regard to living room design are looking for ways to hide the TV when not in use, most men think this is silly.  Therefore, a well thought-out design for the entertainment wall will be important when working with guys to ensure that the TV works seamlessly in the room.

Lesson Four:  Simple color palettes.  As mentioned, most men I know are more open to color than you’d think but what I have noticed is that men’s tastes tend to lean toward a simpler, more streamlined palette of not more than one or two colors per room.  Think simple and streamlined and complementary tones of the same color and you’re good to go.

Maybe one of these days Taylor will send me photos of his house and I can post those — in the meantime, I’ll just have to wonder how many of these lessons apply.

Leave a Reply

