Chalkboard painted dining room

20 Nov

I’ve seen tons of very cool walls (mostly in kitchens) which are painted with black chalkboard paint.  I really like the look although I did see an episode of George Clark’s Home Show where he painted one wall in the kitchen with chalkboard paint and when they went back in one-year on, the family weren’t digging it at all. 

So I was thinking to myself that if I painted a wall with chalkboard paint, would I actually use it and write notes on it?  The answer is probably not… In fact, I think it sounds a bit messy to keep up.

I guess that’s why this room appealed to me so much.  I think it adds a bit of drama with the chalkboard paint around the picture rail.  I like that people aren’t likely to lean up against it, it’s not really meant to carry any specific messages and yet it can be easily changed.  In essence, it’s just become a design feature.  The owners of this place elected to write a poem on their chalkboard-painted wall.  This I like.  Thoughts?  Please weigh in!

4 Responses to “Chalkboard painted dining room”

  1. mollyg November 22, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    i like the idea of it, but you are right, the clean up would be a pain. i wonder if one day someone will create white board paint? I could see that as being very useful on a wall in an office. easy to clean up too! :) And, anyone who can write that much with chalk on a wall must have really fancy handwriting to keep it around! :)

    • amyswear November 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

      White board paint would be brilliant — a new business venture mayhaps?

  2. Megan July 7, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    Amy, good point! There is such a thing, chalk paint…the texture of chalk but semi-permanent. Its sold at craft stores and is really expensive. I’ve seen many examples of kitchens, offices, kids rooms, living rooms covered in chalkboard paint and I think i’st a great idea (plus it’s cheap!). In the era if technology, going back to basics is where it’s at. Now it’s great to be vintage! Let’s deal with the chalk mess in the kitchen floor and have the kids sweep it up.

    Thanks again for the post, here’s just a few ideas if you want to make your own chalkboard creations….

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/megteg87

    Thanks again,

    Megan

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chalkboard paint « Tilly's Cottage - June 23, 2011

    […] in which people use chalkboard paint.  I featured a dining room which I really liked in a previous post.  I thought these two were also clever.  One is simply the wall to the pantry with a sliding […]

Leave a Reply

