Happy 30th, Eimear!

31 Dec

Today is my friend, Eimear’s (pronounced ee-mur) 30th birthday.  As Eimear would readily admit, it’s not the easiest day for a birthday because one half of people already have plans and the other half avoid going out because it’s New Year’s Eve.  I would fall into the latter group, unfortunately!

Eimear is originally from Co. Cork and Corkonians are a very proud group of people.  Their county colors are red and white so I’m sure red features into the design of a lot of homes around Cork. So, in honor of Eimear’s big day, I thought I’d highlight a couple of rooms using red in different ways.  I absolutely love red as an accent color. It’s great with a white room or, two of my favorite combinations are red and apple green or red and a rich, buttery yellow.

Red can, of course, also be lovely just on it’s own.

4 Responses to “Happy 30th, Eimear!”

  1. mollyg December 31, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    wow, great uses of red. and happy birthday eimer!!

    • amyswear January 2, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

      Glad I remembered to take my red jacket to Cork for our birthday visit!

  2. Lori Simoglou December 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I love the way you are so thoughtful like that Amy, that’s why you have so many friends. I remember the year you spent New Years with us at 180 State St. in Portland. ME. Fond memories. Happy New Years! The year of the Rabbit bodes much better than the ferocious Tiger.

    • amyswear January 2, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Aw – that was a really special time that was — a very fun new year’s.

Leave a Reply

