Stairs & Stripes

21 Jan

I’ve been trying to get my budget together and in doing so, started shopping around a bit for carpeting for my stairs.  These stairs, by the way, are steep and tiny (Molly – sound familiar?). They are grandfathered in and, if it weren’t really expensive, I’d update them but, since it is expensive, they’ll stay as they are – narrow though they may be.

I’m thinking I need a runner for the stairs that won’t show a lot of dirt (afterall, Miss Tilly will be up and down them) and will mix and match easily with a broad and potentially ever-changing color palette given my fondness of decorating. I considered simply painting them but, I think from a noise standpoint, carpeting will work much better.  They’re carpeted already and, while I don’t want to keep the carpet that’s on them, I do think it’s helped maintain the sturdiness of the stairs over all these years.

So, all of this preamble is about where I’ve landed in my head in terms of what I want.  Stripes.  I think stripes would tick a lot of boxes and, although striped carpet may be a bit trendy, I think it’s the right look for the house.  Check out some of these striped carpets (one of the final shots is the detail of a carpet I’m thinking of getting — whaddya’ think?  And you probably already guessed but the last pic are my stairs as they look at the moment — let’s just consider this the “before” photo.).  I really like the chunkier stripes with variegated width best but the carpet gurus tell me that these don’t work well on stairs that turn the way my stairs do as it’s hard to line them up properly – bummer.  

10 Responses to “Stairs & Stripes”

  1. Christine January 21, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Love the stripes! Will you be opening the wall of the stairs? Do you have a general idea as to when you hope construction will be finished?

    • amyswear January 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      I don’t think I’ll be done before May – gulp…

  2. LorI January 21, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I love the striped carpet. I especially love getting the sneak peek at the “before” pic. Thanks, Amy!

  3. mollyg January 21, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    i love the idea of opening the wall, as christiana says, but you know that! :) I like the striped carpet that was on the right side – it is the pic with the brown tones and nice creamy railing – stairs go down to the right. the stripes are so pretty and would probably last a good long time – stylewise. that is just my .02. :)

  4. LorI January 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Oh, I agree with Molly. I had to come back to this blog to show Lyric the “before” pic. She laughed and stuck out her hand and turned her head in disgust. LOL

    I also wanted to add my 2 cents about opening up the stair case. I would do it. It would lighten up the space and is more pleasing to the eye. (I love my banister in my 110 year old Colonial.) Carry on! ;)

    • amyswear January 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      Believe you me, I laugh in disgust myself about this place at times! :-)

  5. amyswear January 22, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Sadly, I can’t open the stairs up too much because there’s a room on the other side of them but I have already opened them up a little bit :-)

  6. LorI January 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Yes, I thought there might be a room on the second floor but I thought opening up the downstairs might be a good possibility. Thanks for sharing in this venue. It’s been fun keeping up this way. Makes me want a career change! ;)

  7. LorI January 22, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Amy, this place will be gorgeous when you’re done. Just know you’re making the world a better place. ;)

    • amyswear January 22, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      I’m not sure about the world — just a tiny little corner of it :-)

Leave a Reply

