A festive love nook for Valentine’s Day

4 Feb

From the vault, I had clipped this photo years ago because I thought it would be a fun way to dress up a room for a party, baby shower or any festive occasion.  Ironically, even though I had forgotten about it for years, my sister, Rebecca, used this very approach of paper Mexican flowers at her wedding in 2006.  I thought the paper flower bunting, combined with the draped pink tulle made this rustic room look really soft and romantic and I love, love, love the little pink paper flames in the fireplace.

And if you’re not familiar with how to make these paper flowers, no worries – it’s easy enough for a child to do!  Case in point is this YouTube video I found of crafts for kids with a young one making a Mexican paper flower.  Check it out:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aK6QBG6IhX0

3 Responses to “A festive love nook for Valentine’s Day”

  1. LorI February 4, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Lyric and I thought this was cute. I loved the paper flames in the fire place too.

  2. Betty February 5, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    That is beautiful. Stacy and I made a tissue paper fire for VBS last summer. We put little battery powered candles inside the tissue paper to make the fire more realistic for the kids.

    • amyswear February 6, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      I love the idea of adding those battery powered candles — instant romance :-)

Leave a Reply

