Some progress – without the scaffolding this time

12 Feb

Jessica was very kind to get up early and help me get everything out of my rented storage unit and into the newly insulated and floored attic at Tilly’s Cottage so that I could save a bit of coin.  To my surprise, when we got out to the cottage, all the scaffolding was down, the new sills were in and the front brick was all re-pointed.  Yay to Mick the Builder!  New windows are to be installed in the next couple of weeks and the grout is still wet so the brickwork at the front will look better once it’s dry and blends in more. The new sills are one of my favorite bits — deeper to accommodate a window box.

While I was out at the house, I used my favorite new iPhone app, 360 View, to take a couple of panoramic photos of the back of the house where the extension will go from the 2nd floor and also one looking back at the house from the rear of the back garden.  Yes, that’s blue sky you see in Dublin today and yes, it’s a very built-up area (city living) and yes, that’s a lot of junk in the back of the house that I inherited on purchase.

10 Responses to “Some progress – without the scaffolding this time”

  1. Christine February 12, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Wow, it looks fantastic. I’m sure you have some very happy neighbors!

    • amyswear February 13, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      One of the neighbors was so cute – she stopped by to say how envious they were. Sweet.

  2. Christiana Childers February 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    It looks like a different house!

    • amyswear February 13, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Ha – at the moment, it looks just like the neighbor’s to the right but I think it will look more like my own once window boxes are in and the door is painted with new hardware (and of course, new windows)

  3. mollyg February 12, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    can’t wait to see the new windows! real progress! and the new layout!! good luck!!

    • amyswear February 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      I can’t either – going to have to get on to those guys and make sure they get them installed soon!

  4. Becky February 13, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    The difference is amazing already! This is such an exciting project!

    • amyswear February 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      Thanks, Beck – very excited!

  5. Kathy February 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Amy… I’m getting “sucked in” to your site. it’s wonderful and SO “Amy”! Your house is great! I am so happy for you. Must go back to work now but I will be back!

    • amyswear February 15, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      Thanks for “visiting” :-)

Leave a Reply

