Roof lanterns

16 Feb

A “roof lantern” style skylight is planned for the kitchen in Tilly’s Cottage.  I’ve heard lots of different terms for these windows but whatever you call it, I think they’re great devices for flooding a room with natural light — particularly in my case where the site in long and narrow and there aren’t many options for windows.

A recurring theme to my posts has, unfortunately, been what I hope to include in the renovation versus what I can actually afford.  I really hope that this isn’t one of those items that has to be cut from the budget. I know I’ll spend a lot of time in my kitchen as it will likely double as an office from time-to-time.  And this is one feature of the extension that I’m most excited about.

While both of my magazine clippings show roof lanterns that are much bigger than my own will be (to accompany my teeny weensy kitchen), I hope that mine will be just as appealing. Can’t wait. 

4 Responses to “Roof lanterns”

  1. Christiana Childers February 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I call them “The Kind of Skylights People Fall Through in Movies” if that helps clear it up. :)

    • amyswear February 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      So true – I could make my dramatic entrance at my first dinner party

  2. mollyg February 17, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    love christiana’s name!! :) and really like the idea of the white on white on white kitchen. think that E is having influence on me!! :)

    • amyswear February 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      Mine won’t be white on white but it certainly can look nice. I’m too much of a color hound to go that direction.

Leave a Reply

