Pippi Longstocking’s House

26 Feb

Don’t ask me what reminded me of this but I was thinking the other day about the Pippi Longstocking movies and how I used to love them.  I wasn’t thrilled about the fact that her voice didn’t match up with her lips (somehow, I think as a kid that I just thought the film was out of sync — not dubbed).  Anyway, I looked up a few photos of the house and I can see the early influence of my love for cottages and Victorian “painted ladies”.

I once read that part of the success of the Harry Potter series is in the formula that he is free of parental oppression and I think Pippi really pioneered that angle. I would have loved having a polka-dotted horse and a house with no rules when I was Pippi’s age.

You can actually visit the house, called Villa Villekulla in Vimmerby, the hometown of Astrid Lindgren, the author, which is in Småland,

2 Responses to “Pippi Longstocking’s House”

  1. Christine February 26, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Thanks Amy for the walk back in time! I loved, loved, loved Pippi!

    • amyswear February 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      I want to watch them all again!

Leave a Reply

