Typographic Maps

13 Mar


If ever there were a time to be a typographic artist, I think this is it.  Typography is really “in” at the moment — and maybe it’s just a bit of a backlash to technology that vintage typography used on modern prints seems to be all the rage.

I’ve come across a number of typographic maps that I think are pretty cool.  The two examples of the US and British Isles are from Bold & Noble: http://boldandnoble.com/

 

And Ork Posters have a range of city posters from popular US cities.  My house in Beantown is in that big gap of white space on the left in the Boston map — surrounded by Boston on three sides.

http://www.orkposters.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Typographic Maps”

  1. Becky March 16, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I was at Melissa’s house 2 days ago and she had the cutest typographic map in Finny’s room. Your blog was the first time I’d seen those and thought it was funny that she had one. She recently blogged about some of these same maps, provign that great minds think alike!

    • amyswear March 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      That’s hilarious – will have to check it out. I’ve added her blog to my blogroll

  2. James McDonald May 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Hey Tilly. Came across your post and want to add my site to the list. Great job, i like your site and added it to my list of places to check in on. I have been working on these for a while and have several more on the way.
    http://www.ilostmydog.com
    Hope you enjoy my art.
    Also can check the blog of some fellow designers and myself at http://www.metalboxdesign.com

    • amyswear May 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks, James – love you work and will definitely check out Metal Box Design as well! All the best.

Leave a Reply

