The Ides of March

15 Mar

It’s the 15th of March which always makes me think of Julius Caesar which I had to read (but enjoyed) back in school and I remember when the emperor is warned to “beware the ides of March”. So, this is a little bit of a stretch but I then started thinking about what’s related to Shakespeare in terms of design and the first thing that sprang to mind was Juliet balconies – which I love, by the way.  I love the idea of throwing open the French doors to the balcony and announcing, “Egoiste” — okay, that’s a reference that’s showing my age for those of you who don’t get it.

Anyway, I guess it’s pretty obvious why people consider Juliet balconies so romantic. I would have loved one at the cottage but I’m not allowed to overlook the neighbors’ properties.  Oh well…another feature for the vacation home. 

2 Responses to “The Ides of March”

  1. mollyg March 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    can’t wait to visit your cottage AND your vacation home. And, oh, yes, I got it! :)

    • amyswear March 15, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      That’s why it’s important to have friends in one’s age range or older! :-)

Leave a Reply

