Kathy marks a special birthday

16 Mar

Today Kathy hits the half century mark.  It got me thinking about the year she was born, 1961, and how so many of the design trends from 50 years ago are back in vogue today.  One of my favorite films from that year is The Parent Trap (the original one with Hayley Mills — not the Li-Lo version from the late ’90s).  The sets in the movie were very hip and I remember thinking how, if I were the twin living in London and saw that cool ranch house in California, that I wouldn’t want to switch back either (but the London pad wasn’t too shabby, either).

Happy Birthday, Kath! Wish I were there to celebrate properly with you!

9 Responses to “Kathy marks a special birthday”

  1. LorI March 16, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I loved the Parent Trap, Amy! I thought they were lucky to see how the other lived. Both were not shabby!

    • Becky March 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Parent Trap is still one of my favorites! Happy Birthday, Kathy Kay!!!

      • amyswear March 19, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

        Me, too! I could watch it again and again.

    • amyswear March 19, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      I’d take either of them!

  2. mollyg March 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    great post for kath’s big day!! I remember distinctly thinking that the decor of Calif was really cool!! London too! Oh, hollywood!!

  3. Kathy Kay March 23, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Thanks Amy for the out reach. You took me down memory lane and at this age the memories are starting to get cloudy! It was a good trip.

    I wish that I was there to help you as we did the Burnhams. I am there in spirit until I can get there in person.

    • amyswear March 24, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      I wish you were here, too!! But don’t worry, I’ll get you over here while there’s still work to be done. xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number plate « Tilly's Cottage - May 29, 2011

    […] the Republic of Ireland – go figure.  So I shipped it to the states thinking that my buddy, Kathy, could bring it over to me when I met up with her last month in Italy.  Wouldn’t it figure […]

Leave a Reply

