Ballyduff

12 Apr


So, one more post about my trip down to Waterford and Cork.  I have now shared Jamie’s house in Cork and our trip out to Salterbridge House in Cork.  Thought I’d share a couple of photos of her place on the Blackwater River.  It’s got a great view and a fabulous vegetable garden.  Jamie gave me fresh rhubarb, wild garlic and watercress to take back with me to Dublin so I had a good week of eating good, fresh food! 

We had dinner at a fantastic spot in the neighboring town of Lismore called O’Brien’s Chop House and it’s a beautiful area all around Lismore and Ballyduff with stunning sights like Lismore Castle.  Jamie’s dog, Rudy, was a good companion for our weekend walks, too.

It was such a beautiful weekend in Ireland and the sky was really blue for a good part of it.  As I was driving down the motorway back to Dublin, I drove under a beautiful bridge and I just couldn’t help but take that last shot which was a hip shot that I took without looking given that I was behind the wheel… 

7 Responses to “Ballyduff”

  1. LorI April 12, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Yes, it is a hip shot! Nicely done, Amy. Lovely photographs. Lyric loved the castle and the dog best!

    • amyswear April 19, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      Ha – I just realized that I implied hip as in cool and I meant hip as in from my hip without looking through the lens. Lyric would love the dog – he’s a sweetie.

  2. Betty April 12, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Beautiful shots! wish I could have been there.

    • amyswear April 19, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      You’d love it – and the gardens are great — you would never have to grocery shop!

  3. mollyg April 12, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    love the bridge shot the best. You couldn’t have gotten a better shot – be careful of the driving!! :)

    • amyswear April 19, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      Luckily, not a lot of traffic in Ballyduff!

  4. LorI April 19, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Thanks, Amy! I thought the pun was intended :)

Leave a Reply

