Archive | 8:26 am

A visit to the big house

16 Apr


I was invited by a friend to an event at the U.S. Ambassador’s residence in Dublin out in Phoenix Park.  It’s a beautiful spot and through my involvement with the American Chamber of Commerce, Ireland, I’ve been lucky enough to see if over the course of the last six years to see how it’s evolved.


It sits smack dab in the middle of one of the best locations in Dublin with great views and the house is like a museum. In fact, they have a travelling exhibit of work from U.S. artists which rotates between ambassadors’ residences around the world.  There’s a beautiful collection on view at the house at the moment including a lovely Remington.


The house was refurbished in the last few years by the previous ambassador, Thomas Foley, but it still has a very classic feel to it.

I completely embarrassed my friend, Brian, by pulling out my iPhone to snap off a couple of pics — but as I told him, he should never have invited an American if he didn’t want a camera pulled out at some point during the evening. Luckily enough for him, there are photos on the web courtesy of the New York Times. To see more:  http://tinyurl.com/3utfgps