Nicholas Mosse Pottery

22 Apr


I remember in 2005 when I first went to visit Jamie and her family in Cork for Thanksgiving that I thought her mix-n-match collection of Irish potter, Nicholas Mosse’s, pottery was so cute and cottage-y.  When I was back at their house recently, I was reminded again of how much I like it.  Thought I would share a few pics of Jamie’s NM and also a couple of pics of other patterns.

The style he uses is a traditional style of Irish Spongeware. Irish spongeware was the traditional pottery of Ireland used in the 18th Century. I also recently learned that Nicholas Mosse and his wife, Susan, are a part of the Kilfane Trust project which cares for the Kilfane Glen & Waterfall period gardens.  They sound spectacular so I’m going to have to take a trip out there sometime soon while it’s still Spring.  If you’re in Ireland, Kilfane is just outside Kilkenny town– about 40 minutes southwest of Dublin. www.kilfane.com. http://www.nicholasmosse.com

2 Responses to “Nicholas Mosse Pottery”

  1. mollyg April 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    love this pottery! can’t believe we didn’t go check it out when i was there! put it on the list for the next visit! :)

Leave a Reply

