Stripped doors, naked fireplaces and tearing down walls

20 May

I searched far and wide for someone who could acid dip the original doors in Tilly’s Cottage.  I had literally asked everyone in the building trade whom I met to see if they could pass on a name and everyone told me people don’t do this any longer.  Then a colleague passed on the name of a guy whom he wasn’t sure was still in business…apparently, this isn’t a big business.  Luckily for me, he was actually still in business so while I was away on vacation in early May, he came and picked up all the doors in the house and also took off the cast iron fireplace surrounds for acid dipping.  There were literally layers and layers of what I can only guess is probably lead paint.  My stripper/dipper man came back with all the goods and they look like new — while some of them may still get a new coat of non-toxic paint and others will be left natural, the detail has really come out.

Also, just had to share a pic of the wall between the two upstairs bedrooms which has been stripped back to the studs in preparation for the new wiring, insulation and plaster board.

4 Responses to “Stripped doors, naked fireplaces and tearing down walls”

  1. LorI May 20, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Oh, this is what I’ve been waiting for! This is the good stuff! I love that you’re to trying to use as much of the original wood as you can. To quote my favorite character, Oliver Twist, “Please, Sir, can I have some more.”

    • amyswear May 20, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks, Lor! I’ll try to do my best!

  2. mollyg May 20, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    love dipped doors! :)

  3. Betty May 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I get more excited with every update,

Leave a Reply

