Happy birthday to the woman who inspires me most

6 Jun

My mother is an inspiring person – just ask anyone who knows her.  She is also one of the most creative people I know.  She was keen on graphic design when she was in high school but she won a scholarship from a local college in her hometown of Leavenworth, Kansas, to get her teaching degree so she became a teacher.  I don’t want to give you the impression that she wasn’t passionate about teaching because she has an immense amount of patience and is great at teaching others.

But her true calling (outside of motherhood, of course) came a bit late in life.  When my father got a new job in Portland, Oregon, my folks moved from their adopted home of Texas to the Pacific Northwest.  My mother had always been a proficient seamstress and crafter and so when she took her first quilting class (maybe in her 50s?) she took to it like a bug to a lightbulb. Today she runs an online quilt pattern and supply store with my dad — she’s chief creative officer, number one fabric purchaser and the heart and soul of Storyquilts

I have many future posts to tell you more about all the wonderful and creative things my mother did with and for her four daughters over the years — in fact, she’s already started brainstorming about a new project for Tilly’s Cottage (a quilted chair — more to come). Happy Birthday, Mom! 

8 Responses to “Happy birthday to the woman who inspires me most”

  1. Lori June 6, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    This is incredibly awesome! And a piece of history, I did not know. Of course, there’s lots I don’t know about your mom. But what a wonderful birthday wish. It made my heart melt. Happy Birthday, Mom! A lovely picture of you both, by the way.

  2. Christine June 6, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Such a great Happy Birthday tribute to your mom. Happy Birthday!

  3. Betty June 6, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Pass the tissues. Thank you Amy. My prize creations, with God’s help are my four beautiful, wonderful daughters. Love you.

    • amyswear June 7, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      aw – now I’m the one who needs a tissue!!

  4. Becky June 6, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Love this picture of you guys! Nice post!

  5. Christiana Childers June 8, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Happy Birthday Betty!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fun with gift bows « Tilly's Cottage - July 5, 2011

    […] is the perfect gift bow for someone crafty (like my mother…).   I love fun ideas for gift wrapping.  I’ve seen some very cute pom poms made from […]

  2. Patchwork chair « Tilly's Cottage - July 20, 2011

    […] in my inspiration file ever since.  I told you there would be more to come on a project with my mother and there still is definitely more to come on something that’s been in the works for more than […]

Leave a Reply

