Creative uses of old doors

12 Jun

I have a serious dumpster diving reputation and I’ve found some great finds over the years. (As a by the by, I think the term in Ireland is “skip surfing” since they don’t call it a dumpster but I’ve done it here, too!)  I’ve also  had the help from friends along the way in my dumpster diving endeavors.  My friend, Wendy, whose birthday I missed noting on Friday (sorry Wendy!!!), used to live in the very posh Boston neighborhood of the Back Bay. When I was living in Boston, we were going to meet up for a walk and she told me that she’d seen a very cool little dresser in the back alleyway.  We checked it out and it was very cute but seriously unloved. It found its way to my house and I stripped it, re-painted and stained it, added new hardware and used it for years before I moved away from Boston the first time and sold it for $75.

I know Wendy would appreciate this dining room photo knowing me.  I’m sure if I happened to be walking by old doors like this (fat chance of that happening unless you live in France) that I would snatch them up.  Belated happy birthday, Wendy!

2 Responses to “Creative uses of old doors”

  1. Wendy June 12, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Have to say it makes me proud to think I may have been the influence in your interest of ‘dumpster diving’. I’ll admit and apologize for the sheer fact it’s something you can’t ever quite get away from once started. But hey, there are worse things I could have introduced you too!!!

    Thanks for the bday wishes too- pal!

    • amyswear June 13, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      I’m definitely addicted! :-)

Leave a comment