Holly Hobbie

15 Jun

Okay, get ready for a little bit of a ramble.  My mother made this really great little pinafore-styled top for me as a kid and then she embroidered a classic Holly Hobbie image on it (the profile of the little girl in the bonnet).  Her embroidery was beautiful and even though I wore this top much longer than I should have…I eventually grew out of it.  Sometime later, at my request, she made it into a pillow.  When I get a chance to go digging through my things in the basement of Boston, I’ll dig it out and post a photo.  But in the meantime, I’m just going to keep reminiscing.

Holly Hobbie later wrote a series of books called Toot & Puddle.  I spent a few month’s living with my sister and when her son, Tristan, was little, I used to love reading this book to him.    The book is about Toot, who loves to travel, and his friend Puddle, who prefers the comforts of home.  The book follows both Toot and Puddle through a year of their friendship, together and apart.

 

5 Responses to “Holly Hobbie”

  1. Becky June 15, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    I still love that Toot and Puddle book (still have it). It makes me sad to think he’s outgrown it. :(

    • amyswear June 21, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      I LOVE that book – I still remember the way Tristan used to say “Horrifying” when it came to that part.

  2. Betty June 15, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Ah, memories! Just as Tristan out grew the book, my own little “Holly” outgrew her pinafore but the memories of both still last.

    • Lori June 15, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Betty, on a totally unrelated note, you never replied to my email at your storybook quilts. (It’s okay, we all get busy. :) I did notice after I sent the email how you could use more than one square of the garden patch kittens to make a twin-size quilt. I’ll be back to buy soon ;) Lori

  3. Lori June 15, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    What a great bit of nostalgia! I’m going to have to read this book to Lyric.

Leave a Reply

