This weekend’s progress

11 Jul

Mick, the builder,  told me that he’s going to start installing the kitchen today so he said last week that I could paint the areas on the walls where my L-shaped kitchen is going to go — he told me to save paint and don’t bother doing any of the areas where the cabinets and tiles are going to go which made it a lot easier.   I could only reach one side of the kitchen because my lovely flat-packed kitchen is on the other wall but I mostly concerned about getting all the areas painted which might be harder to get once the kitchen is in.  I continued with the blue on all the main walls in the new extension.  I’m still trying to figure out a good color for the master bedroom…hmmm.

I’ve been tracking down the blue on the walls of the coffee shop by my office for a while — finally, I just asked my favorite employee there and he found out the color for me (by the by, already one that I had flagged on the sample sheet as a contender– that’s always a good sign).  It’s Little Greene’s “Bone China Blue” and I’m loving it (Lindsay, I went whole hog for the original instead of the mid!).  The pink-y parts in the photos are the plaster.  I haven’t painted the living room yet so that’s just the bare walls but the fireplace is nearly finished and all the recessed lighting is in.  Mick also kindly replaced the glass in the window above the front door.    I know there’s still so much that needs to be done but it’s actually starting to feel like a home now…

8 Responses to “This weekend’s progress”

  1. Becky July 11, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Pretty!!

  2. Lindsay July 11, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I LOVE this blue colour, it looks great Amy

  3. Lori July 11, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Awesome! All your hard work is shining through! I’m sure you’ll be so happy in your new home. The finishing touches is going to be the icing on the cake.

  4. mollyg July 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    really coming along!! It does look like you could move in really soon!! yeah! As for the bedroom, how about a pale, pale green? just a thought. :) can’t wait to see you soon!!

  5. Betty July 11, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m loving it. Agree with Molly, pretty light green might be nice,

    • amyswear July 11, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks, I’m loving it, too. Will check out some greens.

  6. Christiana Childers July 13, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Love the blue!!

Leave a Reply

