Progress on the bathroom

16 Jul

I was never really that motivated about designing the bathroom (bathrooms don’t generally excite me much) but I’m really liking the way things are shaping up.  Okay, so it has a lot of the same elements as the bathroom does in Boston but I always liked that bathroom, so why not? It’s a teensy-eensy space (so small I think it would be impossible to ever actually get a proper photo of it).  But the ceiling is very high and the skylight makes it feel even higher so I decided to go with all light colored tiles and fixtures and I think I’ll paint the wall above the wainscoting a nice, rich French Grey. I think it will be a nice palette for clean fluffy towels. 

These are the in-progress photos — wainscoting installed (but not painted) floor tiles in and tiles for the shower surround are in.  I’m thrilled with my white subway tiles and dark grout.  I was already planning to use this for the backsplash in the kitchen but just decided to go with it in the bathroom as well and I’m happy with the result so far.

And a quick hello and happy birthday to Christine!  Looking forward to seeing you soon!

2 Responses to “Progress on the bathroom”

  1. Lori July 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Nice! Love it.

  2. Christine July 17, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Love the white tile with grey grout! I think we are doing the same in our kitchen. I am a little concerned about adding the white tile with the dark granite counter and maple cabinets. My thought is the tile will lighten up the kitchen… just not 100% sure. Yes, I will do before and after pictures:)

Leave a Reply

