Writing a letter of interest

26 Jul

I’ve written before about the fact that Tilly’s Cottage was not on the market when I bought it.  I was unsuccessful in a bid for the house two-doors down.  I first put a letter through the mail slot in the door of the abandoned house which I now call home but don’t live in way back on February 21st, 2010. Because the house hadn’t been lived in for more than 10 years, the owners didn’t stop by to pick up random post from strangers wanting to buy their home that often so it wasn’t until June that the handshake happened.

While not for everyone, I think there’s no harm in putting in a letter of interest (or working with your Realtor to do so) on a house that’s not on the market.  I thought it might be helpful to include the body of my letter in a post.  I decided that a handwritten note would get more attention but I typed it out first to make sure I selected my words carefully.  I was also pretty sensitive to the fact that my last name screams that I’m not Irish so I was conscious that I didn’t want to come off as disrespectful. One last thing that I was told by Irish friends and that is that the down market creates a lot of investment buyers so it would be important to tell the current owners that it was a home for me to live in — versus simply an investment purchase. I guess this did the trick…

“Dear Sir / Madam:

I hope this doesn’t seem inappropriate but I am writing because I am interested in buying a home in this area to live in.  I recently viewed a home in your area but it had already been sold to another party. 

If you’re considering selling your home, please contact me as I’m in a financial position to buy.

Best wishes and thanks for your consideration. “

2 Responses to “Writing a letter of interest”

  1. Lori July 26, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    And the rest is history :)

  2. Becky July 26, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Love it! Straight forward and to the point. I will be using this myself when I start investing. Louisa said she has used a similar technique in her investing.

Leave a Reply

