It’s starting to come together

8 Aug


It’s hard to believe I’m actually planning to sleep in Tilly’s Cottage for the very first time in just a few days.  While we’re still a bit off from being ready for the big party, things are starting to come together.

The kitchen is installed but I have custom shelving that still needs to be completed, appliances are on their way and handles have to go on the cabinetry. Most of the carpentry work is complete which means built-in shelving and wardrobes are in (with exception of one room still to go…).  Painting is very nearly done with all the major work like ceilings and bookcases painted and hopefully, the walls will go quickly!  My stained glass transom window above the door in the guest bedroom also arrived and was installed recently and the floorboards in the guest room were painted white to hide a multitude of sins but keep the character of the house.

The biggest missing piece now is the downstairs flooring which isn’t in yet but hopefully will be soon!

6 Responses to “It’s starting to come together”

  1. Becky August 8, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    This is amazing! It feels like it all happened so fast!

  2. Jessica August 8, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I am so excited! Can’t wait to fill your new beautiful home up with all our junk ;)

    • amyswear August 8, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      I’m excited, too! Can’t wait for you to generously furnish my home for me during it’s initiation phase! And of course, cook my meals for me!

  3. Lori August 8, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    What? You have a cook too! You’re so lucky, Amy! Lol…Tilly’s Cottage is really coming together.

    On a side note, Rob and I have been busy with our own DIY project in the laundry room. Tearing the old gross floor and installing a new one, painting the room and getting it ready for my washer to be deliver this weekend. I’m broken from all the physical labor. I know it pales in comparison to what you’ve been doing, but I could have used Mick the Builder! LOL

    Seriously, I’m so happy the light is at the end of the tunnel. It’s been a long journey. Hugs, Lori

  4. Joan Kelleher August 8, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Congratulations!!! Big job and joy almost done!!!

  5. Molly August 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    yeah! it looks beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

