Saturday flitting, short sitting

11 Aug

My neighbors in the new hood have all warned me not to move in on a Saturday. There’s an old superstition in Ireland “Saturday flitting, short sitting” which means you won’t be there long if you move in on a Saturday.  I was looking it up online and it says that there are two origins:  somebody who disappears from a rented property typically does it over the weekend, while the landlord is busy, so they don’t have to pay the rent. An equivalent of a midnight flit. The second belief is that hospitals are keen to get people out on a Saturday to make space for the coming week, so if you were discharged on a Saturday, you were more likely to be re-admitted.

Now, ya see, I have a little problem in that I work Monday through Friday…so it’s going to be a little difficult avoiding Saturday altogether… Then I heard about another complication – apparently, it’s is an old West of Ireland tradition to move in on a Friday.  I read on an online board that when some people in the West find out that they can’t move in on a given Friday, they will wait a week  before they spend the night there — even if they have the keys.  Oh, keeping up with all this is tricky – and the good news is that moving day is around the corner. 

3 Responses to “Saturday flitting, short sitting”

  1. Betty August 11, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I really enjoy these back stories. God bless your move whenever it happens. I’m excited for you.

  2. Molly August 11, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    way too confusing for me! :) good luck with the move. wish I was there to help. especially because I think pretty much everything is in the house already, yes? :)

  3. Kathy Kay August 12, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    Good luck, no matter what day!

Leave a Reply

