Big honkin’ fridge

12 Aug

My dear American friends, please take no offense when I tell you that we “yanks” can be pretty annoying when we come over here to Ireland and laugh at how small everything is!  I’m guilty of doing it myself but I’ve learned to appreciate how Europeans economize on space more than we do in the U.S. with one notable exception… refrigerators

I lived in an apartment for over five years that had a very tiny oven, no pantries and, what I would have considered to be a very small fridge before I moved to Ireland.  But in fact, the fridge that I had in that last place was actually a good size for what one would typically see — particularly for a rented apartment.  The standard-sized apartment refrigerator is about the size of a standard dishwasher and it fits under counter.

So, while my Irish friends might not be entirely in favor of my decision, I got a B.H.F. (Big Honkin’ Fridge) for Tilly’s Cottage.  I may end up having to store my clothes, my books and other things in the fridge because it takes up such a large portion of the space but I’m really excited about it.  It just arrived yesterday and is still in the packaging but you can see the difference in size already!

 

2 Responses to “Big honkin’ fridge”

  1. Lori August 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Wow! That is a big fridge! I actually like small :) I would like Europe ;)

  2. Betty August 12, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    When I was a kid, Granny used to sprinkle down clothes to be ironed, roll them up and store them in the fridge (or as we called it, the ice box). I’m sure there were times when we had more clothes than food in our ice box.
    Someone in our house stores batteries of all sizes and shapes, photo paper and film in the fridge which is not really a BHF for Texas.
    Loved the post!

Leave a Reply

